New district lines could spark passionate race for Marc Berman seat | News

Most residents of the Midpeninsula won’t see a dramatic difference when California officially adopts new boundaries for the Senate, State Assembly, and Congressional districts.

According to maps that the state’s 2020 California Biparty Redistricting Commission approved on Monday, most districts on the peninsula will remain similar to what they look like today, with a few notable exceptions in central and southern China. Santa Clara County. San José will now be divided into four congressional districts, a division that has been criticized by Mayor Sam Liccardo and others. And the towns of Campbell and Saratoga would now be included in the Assembly and Senate districts which are represented by Assembly Member Marc Berman and State Senator Josh Becker and which are otherwise dominated by communities. of San Mateo County.

Berman, D-Menlo Park, will largely retain its current district, which includes much of San Mateo County and northern Santa Clara County, including Palo Alto and Mountain View. But the displacement of the district’s eastern border could have important political ramifications. With his district occupying territory in central Santa Clara County, Berman could also inherit a tough new challenger in next year’s election: Assembly member Evan Low, whose hometown of Campbell is. now in the Berman district. Unlike seats of Congress, state officials are required to live in the districts they represent.

Unlike Berman, Low would see a dramatic difference between his current district and his new one. Low, who was first elected to assembly in 2014, currently represents the 28th District, which includes Campbell, Los Gatos, Cupertino, Saratoga, Monte Sereno and parts of western San Jose, including the Willow Glen and Cambrian neighborhoods.

Berman said in a statement he plans to speak to Low before making any announcements about his plans.

“I love my job serving my constituents in northern Santa Clara County, southern San Mateo County and the coast,” Berman said. “I also have the utmost respect for my colleague and good personal friend, Evan Low.”

On Thursday, Berman and Low injected some levity into the conversation about their potential Election Day clash by posting a TikTok video in which they look set to fight. The video begins with a caption “There’s only one way to settle a fight” and Low and Berman raising their fists, before moving on to footage of them hitting each other with pillows.

“My eyes are on you, @Marc_Berman,” Low tweeted with video.

“Bring him @Evan_Low! You’re lucky they’re down pillows,” Berman replied in his own tweet.

As for the new Congressional and State Senate districts, the change on the Midpeninsula will be relatively subtle. Under the new approved map, cities in the region will remain divided into two congressional districts, as they do today. To the west will be District 16, which includes most of the towns currently represented by Representative Anna Eshoo, D-Palo Alto. This new congressional district – a modified version of what is now called District 18 – will continue to include the western part of San Mateo County, including the towns of Woodside, Atherton and Portola Valley, and a large part of Santa Clara County, including Palo Alto, Mountain View, Saratoga, Los Gatos and Campbell. The district, however, will not include the neighboring towns of Cupertino and Sunnyvale, which would now be grouped with Santa Clara, Newark and Milpitas as part of District 21.

Unlike today, the new Congressional District will expand northwest to also include communities along the coast of San Mateo County, including Half Moon Bay, El Granada, and Lobitos.

The other district on the peninsula, which will now be known as District 15, would include most of the towns overlooking the San Francisco Bay, including Belmont, Burlingame, Millbrae, San Bruno, San Mateo, San Carlos, and Redwood City. . East Palo Alto is included in this district, as are the communities of Belle Haven and North Fair Oaks. Much of this area is currently included in District 14, which is represented by Representative Jackie Speier, D-San Francisco / San Mateo. The biggest change in this district will happen at the northern end, with its share of San Francisco moving south and east from the current alignment.

The state Senate district that is currently represented by Sen. Josh Becker, D-Menlo Park, will also remain largely intact, encompassing all towns along the coast south of Daly City in San Mateo County. as well as those in northern Santa Clara County, including Palo Alto, Mountain View, Menlo Park, East Palo Alto, Redwood City, Woodside, and the Portola Valley. Much like on the Assembly map, the biggest change is occurring in the southeastern part of the Senate District, which will now include the County towns of Santa Clara, Cupertino, Saratoga, Campbell and Los Gatos.

The 14-member cutting committee worked on the new cards for more than a year before voting unanimously to adopt them on Monday. In a statement, committee chair Alicia Fernandez said the panel concluded its card design responsibilities “with pride in our final product.”

“We started this process by leaving politics out of the equation in the hopes of getting fairer and more equitable cards,” Fernandez said. “I think I speak for my colleagues when I say mission accomplished! “

The committee plans to present its final card to the Secretary of State’s office on Monday, December 27.

Comments are closed.