Map Divides Fort Bend County into 3 Congressional Districts |


Fort Bend County could send three U.S. officials to Washington, DC, for the first time in the near future under a redistribution map approved by the Texas Legislature on Friday.

Currently, two members of the United States Congress represent Fort Bend County in Congress: United States Representative Troy Nehls (R-Richmond) and United States Representative Al Green (D-Houston).

If Governor Greg Abbott approves the redistribution map, Fort Bend County would also be represented in Congress by District 7, currently represented by Lizzie Fletcher (D-Houston).

The map drew a lot of backlash from Democrats who said the Republican-controlled House and Senate redrawn district boundaries to help themselves and prevent the election of Democrats and minorities.

The proposed map requests that Congress District 22, currently represented by Nehls, include most of Fort Bend County, part of Brazoria County, and all of Wharton and Matagorda counties.

Nehls would continue to represent most of Richmond, Greatwood, Rosenberg and Needville.

“I support and appreciate the good work of the Texas House and Senate on the redistribution of Congress,” Nehls told the Herald on Wednesday. “I look forward to the final product once it arrives on Gov. Abbott’s desk to be signed and codified into law. For now, my focus is on representing the voters in Texas’ 22nd District who sent me to Congress.

Nehls, the former Fort Bend County Sheriff, was elected to Congress in November 2020.

The map asks Fletcher to represent part of Fort Bend County, primarily the communities of New Territory, Veranda, and Del Webb / Sweetgrass.

At present, Fletcher’s 7th Congressional District is entirely located in Harris County and includes residents of Houston, Bellaire, Bunker Hill Village, Hedwig Village, Hilshire Village, Hunters Creek Village, Jersey Village, Piney Point Village , Southside Place, Spring Valley Village, West University Place, and Harris County unincorporated west of Katy.

Fletcher was elected to represent District 7 in November 2018.

District 9, currently represented by Al Green since 2005, is made up of part of Harris County and parts of Fort Bend County and Brazoria County.

In Fort Bend County, Green represents the communities of Missouri City, Stafford and Sugar Land, with the exception of the portion of Sugar Land which includes the community of Greatwood.

Green has spoken out against the redistribution card, saying it is clearly designed to help Republicans win the election.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.