Lafayette ballots set for fall election after candidates qualify

Ballots for the Tuesday, Nov. 8, elections in Lafayette Parish are set as qualifying ended Friday for dozens of offices in the parish.

Topping Lafayette’s ballots this fall will be races for the U.S. Senate seat held by Republican Senator John Kennedy and Republican Representative Clay Higgins’ 3rd Congressional District seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. United.

Higgins, who qualified to run for his fourth term representing Southwest Louisiana in Congress on Friday, drew seven challengers, including three other Republicans, and he was endorsed by the state party.

Local races are full of races for the positions of judge, mayor and chief of police.

Voters will choose the Court of Appeals and City Judges

Two Acadiana District Court judges are running to replace longtime Third Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Sylvia Cooks of Lafayette, who steps down from the bench after 30 years on the appeals court.

Two black and Democratic candidates are running to fill Cooks’ seat, each in his second year as a district court judge.

Lafayette-based Judge Valerie Gotch-Garrett of the 15th Judicial District and Opelousas-based Judge Ledricka Johnson Thierry of the 27th JDC will face off in the Nov. 8 election.

The two are running in a smaller section of the 21-ward Third Circuit Court of Appeals. The majority of the district’s registered voters are black Democrats, and it includes portions of the parishes of Lafayette, Iberia, St. Landry, and St. Martin,

Valerie Gotch Garrett

Voters in the city of Lafayette will also determine who will replace former city court judge Michelle Odinet, who resigned after barely a year in office when a video surfaced of her using a racial slur.

Lafayette Court:Judge Michelle Odinet resigns after making racial slurs on video

Three candidates are running for the seat she vacated in December, including a former district judge, a former police chief and a current prosecutor.

Former 15th JDC Judge Jules Edwards III, who lost to Odinet in the 2020 City Court elections, is running again as a non-party candidate for the seat. Edwards served nearly 30 years as a district court judge before deciding to run for a city court position.

Assistant District Attorney Roya Boustany, a Republican, will also run for city court judge this fall after serving in the 15th Judicial District Attorney’s Office for about seven years.

Former Lafayette Police Chief Toby Aguillard, a Republican expelled from the department by Mayor-Chairman Josh Guillory in January 2020, rounds out the trio of candidates running for city court judge.

A run-off will take place in the race on December 10, if no candidate wins a majority of the votes cast on November 8.

Small town voters have plenty of elections to watch

Voters in Broussard, Carencro, Duson, Scott and Youngsville have several races to watch.

The mayor of Duson, Johnny Thibodeaux, is the only incumbent mayor to have been re-elected without opposition.

Carencro is the only municipality in the parish without an incumbent mayor seeking re-election, with longtime mayor Glenn Brasseaux announcing his retirement in February.

Brasseaux chief executive Don Chauvin and former Carencro councilor Charlotte Stemmans Clavier will compete for the seat.

Broussard Mayor Ray Borque will face a challenge from Corey Morgan. Scott Mayor Jan-Scott Richard will face Troy Bergeron. And Youngsville Mayor Ken Ritter will take on Kenneth Champagne.

All of the parish mayoral candidates are running as Republicans.

The parish’s elected police chiefs will largely avoid contests in their re-election bids, with Broussard Chief Vance Olivier, Carencro Chief David Anderson and Youngsville Chief Rickey Boudreaux all running unopposed.

Only Scott Police Chief Chad Leger, a Republican, will face a challenger as he makes his sixth bid for the job. Republican Caleb Lege, a former sheriff’s deputy and Scott’s police department officer, comes forward to overthrow Leger.

Broussard, Carencro, Duson, Scott and Youngsville will also hold elections for their councils and councils of aldermen on November 8. More details are available online at

Follow Andrew Capps on Twitter or email [email protected]

Comments are closed.