Henderson County Four Seasons Politics: 10 files for Congress, eight for school board

10 line for the convention, eight for the school board

Ten candidates had filed for the 11and The congressional district, including incumbent Madison Cawthorn, and the Henderson County School Board field had grown to eight when the third filing day ended for the 2022 election Monday.

Cawthorn had announced in November that he would come down the mountain to take up a new seat. Now that the North Carolina Supreme Court has cleared the dark red seat, the freshman lightning rod announced Monday that he is staying put.

“I am thrilled to be running for re-election in North Carolina’s newly solidified 11th congressional district and to represent nearly all of my current constituents in the 118th Congress,” he said in a press release. “The counties that I previously lost in redistricting are now included in the new maps that will be used in the 2022 election cycle, and today I re-apply to represent them. western North Carolina want a fighter in Congress.With their support, I look forward to returning to Washington as a sophomore and helping to enact major change with a historic Republican majority.

Fellow Republican Matthew Burril of Fletcher was the only candidate from the 11th congressional district to publicly react to Cawthorn’s announcement.

“Madison Cawthorn’s press release today comes as no surprise,” he said. “His voice and courage resonated with me in the 2020 election, as with many voters in western North Carolina. I will remain the conservative, Christian, and business candidate for the Republican nomination for the House of Representatives. of the 11th US District Our western counties are ready for local and trusted leadership in Washington.

Meanwhile, Shelia Dale joined seven candidates who filed for election to the Henderson County School Board last week, including incumbents Jay Egolf and Dot Case and challengers Mary Ellen Kustin, Aaron Purcell, Alyssa Norman, Heather Sowry Ray and Vance McCraw. Incumbent Amy Lynn Holt, whose term is expiring, filed her candidacy against County Commissioner Michael Edney.

The state Supreme Court ordered the case reopened on Feb. 24 after approving legislative maps drawn by the General Assembly and a new Congressional map drafted by a court-appointed special master.

In addition to Cawthorn and Burril, the candidates for the 11th Congressional District seat are Democrats Katie Dean of Swannanoa, Bo Hess of Asheville and Buncombe County Commissioner Jasmine Beach-Ferrara; Libertarian David Adam Coatney of Fletcher and Republicans Bruce O’Connell of Candler, Wendy Marie-Limbaugh Nevarez of Asheville, Chuck Edwards of Flat Rock and Rod Honeycutt of Alexander.

Here are other candidate filings through Monday:

  • State Senate District 48: State Representative Tim Moffitt, R, and Dennis Justice, R.
  • House District 113: State Representative Jake Johnson, R.
  • Home District 117: Chelsea Walsh, R.
  • New District Court 29B Judge Seat: Jason R. Hayes, R, and Abe Hudson, R.
  • District Attorney: Andrew Murray, R, and Mary Ann J. Hollocker, R.
  • Henderson District 1 County Board of Commissioners: Michael Edney, R, and Amy Lynn Holt, R.
  • Henderson District 3 County Board of Commissioners: Bill Lapsley, R.
  • Henderson District 4 County Board of Commissioners: Rebecca McCall, R.
  • Clerk of the Superior Court: J. Tyler Ray, R.
  • Register of Deeds: William Lee King, R.
  • Sheriff: Lowell Griffin, R.

In addition to approving new legislative and congressional maps on February 23, the North Carolina Supreme Court moved the primary to May 17. Even that date could be jeopardized if Republican leaders in the General Assembly prevail in their challenge to the Congressional map.

“Today’s ruling is simply egregious,” House Speaker Tim Moore said in a statement last week. would be determined by unelected partisan activists. »

Comments are closed.