General Election of Alexandria 2021: candidates, how to vote


ALEXANDRIA, VA – Voters in Alexandria will head to the polls on Tuesday to decide local races as well as statewide races.

The general election in Alexandria will include races for the Mayor of Alexandria, City Council, Sheriff, Alexandria School Board and Commonwealth Prosecutor. State races include Governor of Virginia, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, and Districts 45 and 46 of the Virginia House of Delegates. Your vote will depend on your school board and the District of the House of Delegates.

On polling day, voters can go to their assigned polling station between 6:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m.

For 2021, voters should note the temporary changes: Ladrey Senior Building Precinct will vote at the Charles Houston Recreation Center (901 Wythe Street); The Hermitage compound will vote at John Adams Elementary School (5651 Rayburn Avenue); and Douglas MacArthur School Precinct will vote at the George Washington Masonic National Memorial (101 Callahan Drive).

To vote in person, acceptable ID is required to vote in person, but it is no longer required to be photo ID. Examples of accepted IDs include a Virginia driver’s license, DMV-issued ID, US passport, current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, etc.

For those who have requested a postal ballot, the ballots must be returned before 7 p.m. on November 2, on polling day, in person or postmarked before November 2 and received by noon on November 5. Ballots can also be dropped off at the polling station during voting. November 2, or 24 hours a day, 7 days a week in a secure drop box outside the Voter Registration and Election Office before 7 p.m. on November 2. The last day to request a postal ballot was October 22. voting ended on October 30.

What’s on the ballot

Check back with Patch for the election results after the polls close at 7 p.m. Tuesday. Subscribe to free news alerts for election results.

Here are the candidates on the ballot for Tuesday’s general election. Voters can find more information at


  • Glenn A. Youngkin-R
  • Terry R. McAuliffe-D
  • Princess L. Blanding-LP

Lieutenant Governor

  • Winsome E. Sears-R
  • Hala S. Ayala-D

Attorney General

  • Jason S. Miyares-R
  • Mark R. Herring-D

Chamber of Delegates – 45th arrondissement (45th arrondissement only)

  • Justin D. “JD” Maddox -R
  • Elizabeth B. Bennett-Parker-D

Chamber of Delegates – 46th arrondissement (46th arrondissement only)

commonwealth attorney



  • Annetta M. Taken
  • Justin M. Wilson

Member, City Council (six seats)

  • Darryl D. Nirenberg
  • Canek Aguirre
  • Sarah R. Bagley
  • John taylor chapman
  • Alyia Smith-Parker Gaskins
  • Amy B. Jackson
  • R. Kirk McPike
  • Glenda Gail Parker
  • Florence M. King

Member, District A School Board (three seats)

  • Michelle M. Rief
  • Deanna MR “D” Ohlandt
  • AM “Ish” Boyle
  • Willie F. Bailey Sr.
  • Hyacinth E. Greene

Member, District B School Board (three seats)

  • Ashley E. Simpson Baird
  • Bridget shea westfall
  • Tammy S. Ignacio
  • Deborah J. Ash
  • Preann johnson
  • Kelly Carmichael Booz
  • Ricardo N. “Coach Rico” Roberts

Member, District C School Board (three seats)

  • Abdel S. Elnoubi
  • W. Christopher Harris
  • Meagan L. Alderton

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.